Background

I was born and grew up in a small French town called Alma (Quebec, Canada), two and a half hours north of Quebec City. At the age of 19, I moved to Ottawa (Ontario, Canada) to learn English and pursue undergraduate and graduate studies at the University of Ottawa. In 2003, I moved to Honolulu (Hawai'i, USA) to pursue a PhD in Second Language Acquisition at the University of Hawai'i. In 2007, I began working as Assistant Professor in the Department of French at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Since August 2012, I have been working as Assistant Professor in the Department of Linguistics at the University of Kansas. I received tenure and was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in August 2015.

I am the fifth of my father's six children and the first of my mother's three children. My parents, five of my six siblings, and many of my aunts, uncles, and cousins live in Alma. I also have family in Chicoutimi, Quebec City, Joliette, Montreal, Ottawa, York (Ontario), and Sydney (Australia)--among  other places.

In my free time, I like cycling, reading about psychology, nature, and wildlife, doing home renovations, gardening, watching movies, learning to play the piano, and traveling. I am also a volunteer at Cedar Cove Feline Conservatory and Education Center.

Among the most important values to me are honesty, respect, and loyalty. I have a positive approach to life. I have a thirst for knowledge, and know that a lifetime will not be long enough to learn all I want to learn.